Close this search box.

C.W. Runberg Harness and Saddlery

403, 405, 407 N Third Street, Red Oak, Iowa, 51566

Year Built:





No Style


Modifications: Tripled in size sometime
between 1927-1948. Doors and display windows
altered at unknown date.

Height: two story

Walls: Brick

Storefront: Modern doors, wood or aluminum
windows, transoms covered with metal or

Windows: Vinyl 1/1 windows.

Stylistic features: Vertical piers divide façade,
brick dentil course and stone coping.

Past Businesses

403 N Third St
1949 Thomas Hardware, Annex

405 N Third St
1949-1951 Midwest Television Sales

407 N Third St
1896 Hathway and Clark Tailors
1909-1910 C.F. Liljeberg Shoe Repair
1914 Harness Shop
1917 Runberg, C.W. Harness and
1918 Hamptons Grocery
1920 The Light Shop
1927 Store
1927 Ideal Grocery
1944 Thomas Transfer Co, Wombolt
1949 Franklin’s Heating and
1955-1960 Keesler Radio and TV
1972 Racine Radio and Television

Explore the historical fabric of downtown Red Oak

73 Historical Buildings, 1 Historical Site, and 8 Historical Objects.

The Red Oak Downtown Historic District has a story to tell. Each individual building itself might not have a depth of historical value, but the woven fabric threaded between each building by commerce, community, fire, and war decorates a story that must be shared.

Inside of a downtown business

Red Oak Branding Kit

Align your marketing campaigns with the City of Red Oak's new branding; Red Oak - The Heart of Southwest Iowa.