Search
Close this search box.

Feed, Hay and Chop Mill

215 E Reed Street, Red Oak, Iowa 51566

Year Built:

1900

Architect:

Unknown

Style:

Italianate

History

Modifications: At unknown date, storefront modernized.

Height: Two story.

Walls: Brick.

Storefront: Cast iron lintel, wood display windows, transoms covered with signage, aluminum or fiberglass doors, aluminum awning.

Windows: Wood 1/1 double hung windows.

Stylistic features: Decorative brickwork, cornice, brick pilasters with stone brackets, arched window opening and stone sills at 2nd fl window openings.

Past Businesses

1900-1908 Feed, Hay & Chop Mill
1914 Music & Milly, B & S, Iron Works
1927 Garage (Capacity: 20 Cars), Auto Storage
1934-1958 D.E. Smith, Chiropractor
1940 Dr. F.C. Armstrong, Physician and Surgeon
1948 Store

Explore the historical fabric of downtown Red Oak

73 Historical Buildings, 1 Historical Site, and 8 Historical Objects.

The Red Oak Downtown Historic District has a story to tell. Each individual building itself might not have a depth of historical value, but the woven fabric threaded between each building by commerce, community, fire, and war decorates a story that must be shared.

Inside of a downtown business

Red Oak Branding Kit

Align your marketing campaigns with the City of Red Oak's new branding; Red Oak - The Heart of Southwest Iowa.