Close this search box.

Frank J. Reifel’s Clothing

304 E Coolbaugh Street, Red Oak, Iowa 51566

Year Built:





Commercial Style


Modifications: Around 1920, storefront modernized, entrance moved to center and additional entry added. Around 1974, storefront remodeled again with new materials, 2nd floor windows replaced and transoms above infilled with wood boards. More recently, at unknown date, storefront remodeled again with new materials.

Height: Two story.

Walls: Brick, painted.

Storefront: Aluminum display windows and central door, wood door at side, concrete block pilasters.

Windows: Wood 1/1 windows.

Stylistic features: Stone ornament above 2nd floor window openings, patterned brickwork, and narrow cornices with dentils.

Past Businesses

1896 Malory & Son Hardware
1900 Thompson’s Grocery
1903-1921 Frank J. Reifel Clothing, Reifel & Ellwood
1908 Haber-dashery, Pool – 2nd Fl
1914 Pool Room – 2nd Fl
1917 Lee Rouse, Billiards – 2nd Fl
1926 The Flower Shop
1927-1928 The Light & Flower Shop, Hoydar-Mintle Electric Company – 2nd Fl
1927 Pool Room – 2nd Fl
1927-1956 F.W. Woolworth Company
1948 Pool Room – 2nd Fl

Explore the historical fabric of downtown Red Oak

73 Historical Buildings, 1 Historical Site, and 8 Historical Objects.

The Red Oak Downtown Historic District has a story to tell. Each individual building itself might not have a depth of historical value, but the woven fabric threaded between each building by commerce, community, fire, and war decorates a story that must be shared.

Inside of a downtown business

Red Oak Branding Kit

Align your marketing campaigns with the City of Red Oak's new branding; Red Oak - The Heart of Southwest Iowa.