Close this search box.

George K. Power’s Dry Goods

509 N Third Street, Red Oak, Iowa 51566

Year Built:





Queen Anne


Modifications: Between 1917 and 1930s, display windows and knee walls modified, neon sign added between display windows and
transom window. Around 1952, storefront altered, bay window added at upper story, replacing 3 double hung windows. In 2014, building owners received a CDBG grant to carry out facade improvements. Work included repairing the bay window and repainting the facade.

Height: Two story.

Walls: Brick covered with stucco at upper half.

Storefront: Deeply recessed central entrance flanked by pairs of stepped aluminum display windows, transom above and siding around windows is painted metal panel system, aluminum awning above.

Windows: Wood framed bay window with 6/6 double hung wood windows and 3-lite transoms.

Stylistic features: Brick lintel, cornice.

Past Businesses

1886-1891 Drygoods, Offices on 2nd
1896-1902 George K. Powers, Drygoods
1899 Offices – 2nd Fl
1899-1900 V.P. Stoddard, Capitalist – 2nd Fl
1905 Graham & Welch Dry Goods
1907-1910 Muhs & Rathbone Dry Goods
1914 Jewelry
1917 Cole, Watches, Clocks, Etc.
1918 Muhs & Rathbone Dry Goods
1927 Store
1927, Sept 2 Muhs & Rathbone Close out sale
1927, Nov 4 The 5-2-1 Store Opening Sale
1934 Cole, Watches, Clocks, Etc (MCD), Note: the Cole family lived on 2nd floor

Explore the historical fabric of downtown Red Oak

73 Historical Buildings, 1 Historical Site, and 8 Historical Objects.

The Red Oak Downtown Historic District has a story to tell. Each individual building itself might not have a depth of historical value, but the woven fabric threaded between each building by commerce, community, fire, and war decorates a story that must be shared.

Inside of a downtown business

Red Oak Branding Kit

Align your marketing campaigns with the City of Red Oak's new branding; Red Oak - The Heart of Southwest Iowa.