Close this search box.

Nordquist Building

512 N Fourth Street

Year Built:







Modifications: By 1930s, facade stuccoed covering quoins and window hoods, cornice removed, second floor window openings partially infilled, transom windows at storefront removed. In 1950, storefront modernized with new display windows and door, stone bulkhead and lintel. By 1960 stone lintel removed, retractable awning added, display windows replaced. After 1960, display windows modified again, fixed awning added. In 2014, building owners received a CDBG grant to carry out facade improvements. Work included repainting the facade, new storefront, restoring windows and transoms, a new awning and new signage.

Height: Two story.

Walls: Brick covered with stucco.

Storefront: Aluminum door and windows with reflective glass.

Windows: Wood 1/1 double hung windows.

Stylistic features: None

Past Businesses

1896-1917 S.C. Nordquist Clothing
1901-1905 Guardsman Printing Co. – 2nd Fl
1901-1905 J.P. Shuey Insurance
1907-1917 Red Oak Printing Co. – 2nd Fl
1920 Peterson & Florin, Grocery
1933 Red Ball Food Store
1934-1950 Red Oak Supply Store
1940 Tom Lomas Mutual Insurance Co.
1940 N.W. Burke Insurance – 2nd Fl
1940 Northwestern Mutual Insurance Co. – 2nd Fl
1944 Red Ball Store Inc
1950-1957 Singer Sewing Machine & Repairs
1959-1960 Le Rette’s Hardware
1972 Arney’s Hallmark

Explore the historical fabric of downtown Red Oak

73 Historical Buildings, 1 Historical Site, and 8 Historical Objects.

The Red Oak Downtown Historic District has a story to tell. Each individual building itself might not have a depth of historical value, but the woven fabric threaded between each building by commerce, community, fire, and war decorates a story that must be shared.

Inside of a downtown business

Red Oak Branding Kit

Align your marketing campaigns with the City of Red Oak's new branding; Red Oak - The Heart of Southwest Iowa.